Uncategorized

There is a clenched fist where a garden should be, and launching the flare Gun of inspiration. Blindfolded.

1479222243285

There is a clenched fist where a garden should be.  I have written these words before.

Tonight my voice is acting as chute. I’m lending myself to another because I am expecting company, and must be wholly occupied in the anticipation and waiting of my uncertain guest(s).

If I have nothing to say then I am happy to be lent.

I sit, vacant, in a dimly lit room.  A single dancing flame reaches in vain for the ceiling.  I sit alone in semi-darkness because I believe these conditions to be desirable.  I am expecting a visitor.  I have sent out invitation.  Whether my invitation has been received or otherwise, I do not know.  I can not know.

In fact, I believe it highly likely that my guest resides in no fixed abode at all.  I imagine my guest as some Odinesque-type figure, spending each night graciously received and honoured by more worthy hosts than I.

I can not let myself be disparaged by this likelihood.

So I sit in half-light and hope.

I examine my small portion.

There is no polished silverware, trumpets are not at the ready, nor do kitchen aromas stir.

I am not even wearing shoes.

But I offer what I have: myself and my single flame,

which is dripping wax and dying now.

If you come, and I swear it…

If you come and you keep your part of the bargain,

I will offer myself as sacrificial lamb.

But you do not come and so I let myself be conduit to another.

It is her voice that you will hear next…

Adieu.

“I am a dead language.

Mould grows on me.

Slick tongues do not bend themselves to form me.

I am not heard by ears; brains do not organize, store,

and in the end, forget

me.

I do not fell hearts, nor do I make spirits leap.

I am a dead language.

An infinite body of unspoken poetry.

I am ten thousand unwhispered sweet nothings.

I have not been spat like venom from fearful hearts,

nor have I roused the hearts of men to take up arms, only to fall down

forever.

I think it cruel that I should be called a dead thing yet feel myself so brimming with life.

What makes a thing dead?

Is it that I am silent and unspoken?


An intangible thing; unuttered by the mouths of men?

Standard

Leave a comment